Darwin Festival 2016: Gobyerno (Sipat Lawin) - Day 1

It's been a long day. We hit the ground running, just as we should.


(Photo: Adrienne Vergara [Facebook])

Recently, a cloud of guilt has been passing through me when I create. Granted, I've always been aware of how I want my practice to create some progressive push--whether it's on aesthetics, politics, ideas, whatever.

But recently, the world has been falling into pieces while my art practice has been slowly falling into place. It's such a strange time to be in my mid-twenties. My network is growing. My work is getting more and more complex. Opportunities are opening up. All of these while conditions are becoming worse for those who have always been in the margins. The world is collapsing under the weight of the systemic violence of patriarchy, capitalism, imperialism, et al.

We're preparing "Gobyerno" for the Darwin audience. Elections here are coming up soon, and the city is fraught with complex issues of different forms of violence against indigenous communities. We are racing against time to gain enough grounding, through our Australian playwright David Finnigan and our local collaborator Lisa Pellegrino (whom we'll meet tomorrow), in time for our shows next week.

I open my Facebook, and my feed is just depressing. The current administration confuses the hell out me. It reminds me of active citizenship and why I should focus on specific points rather than agree and disagree based on personality.

Being here in Darwin and being me, in general, is such a privilege. This luxury of experimentation that I'm given, this privilege of experience, is something I'm still grappling with. Sure, financially I'm in debt and am still solidly middle class in a third world country. But in intangible ways, I'm privileged. Thus, creating meaningful art/performance is now a moral duty.

I still haven't figured it all out yet but believe me, I'm trying.


(Photo: Adrienne Vergara [Facebook])